Councils within the University

University Council
Within the University Council, there is a student section and a staff section which both consist of twelve seats. This gives the Council a total of 24 seats. The distribution of seats varies each year; in the academic year of 2021-2022, the distribution is as follows:

For more information about their political views, you can visit their websites by clicking on the links provided. 

Faculty Council
The Faculty Council is the highest representative body within the Faculty of Arts. It is the task of this Council to supervise and advise the board of the Faculty. The Council itself consists of 9 staff members and 9 student members. All the staff members are reunited within one faction, the personnel faction. The 9 student members are, in the academic year of 2020-2021, divided between 3 different parties.

In the academic year 2020-2021 the distribution is as follows:

Letteren Vooruit is committed to a sustainable advancement of the Faculty of Arts. They want more transparency for the communication within the faculty. The mental health of students is very important to them. They also want to monitor the quality of the education.

The Free Student wants a flexible university: the priority is that you can choose the courses you want to take yourself and that you have enough time left to do things besides your study. This also means that they want compulsory attendance to be abolished.

More information on the parties can be found on their websites by clicking the links provided.